Aarhant, Bhawana defend squash titles

Published On: August 6, 2017 08:17 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, August 5: Defending champions Aarhant Keshar Singh and Bhawana Sunuwar retained the men’s and women’s singles titles in the Dhanalaxmi Maharjan Memorial National Squash Tournament at the Satdobato Squash Court on Saturday. 

In the final matches, Aarhant defeated his rival Amrit Thapa Magar in the straight sets of 13-11, 12-10, 11-5 while Bhawana saw off Krishna Thapa 6-11, 11-7, 11-2, 11-7. 
Men’s section champion Aarhant bagged a purse of Rs 18,000 while runner-up Amrit got Rs 10,000. Likewise, the champion and runner-up in the women’s section took home Rs 11,000 and Rs 6,000 respectively.

In the junior boys’ U-15 singles, Gopal Thapa won gold defeating Salim Thapa Magar with 11-2, 8-11, 11-3 and 11-3 in the final. Earlier in the boys’ U-19 singles category of the same tournament, Amir Blon won the gold. 

Mayor of Lalitpur Metropolitan City Chiribabu Maharjan distributed the prizes to the winners. Altogether 85 players participated in seven different categories of the six-day tournament organized by Nepal Squash Racket Association (NSRA).

Leave A Comment