Nepal clinches second consecutive ACC U-16 Eastern Region title

Published On: April 29, 2019 08:58 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, April 29: An all-round performance from Deepak Bohora helped Nepal U-16 cricket team to win its back-to-back second ACC U-16 Eastern Region Tournament defeating Malaysia by 59 runs in Thailand on Sunday. 

In the final match played at the Prem Tinsulanonda International School Cricket Ground in Chiang Mai, Bohora’s all round performance helped the team continue its dominance in the tournament giving his team a second straight title.

Bohora played brilliantly in the final as he claimed four wickets for Nepal giving away 23 runs. Nepal had also beaten Malaysia in the last edition to win the title.

Winning the toss and electing to bat first, Nepal presented a target of 141 runs for the loss of nine wickets in the allocated 35 overs. In reply, Malaysia failed to chase the target losing all its wickets and making just 81 runs in the allocated 35 overs. 

Prashant Mahat hit the highest 40 runs for Nepal, while Bohora contributed to the inning with 23 runs. Captain Bishal Bikram KC made 17 runs, while Nikhil Kumar Singh added 13 runs. 

Other Nepali batsmen could not reach the double figure as the team struggled to get the runs it had made in other games, but its splendid bowling performance helped by Bohora’s crucial haul got the win for Nepal. 

Nepal was in a critical situation of 33-3, but Mahat and KC came as a rescue for the team with a partnership of 35 runs. 

Nepal, who lost nine of its wickets, was troubled by Malaysia bowler Sachinu Hetiz as he claimed three wickets for the team. He was the pick of the bowlers for the losing side as he conceded 14 runs. Likewise, Jitendra Mureli pocketed two wickets for the team. 

In reply, Malaysia was under pressure throughout its inning as it could not hit big runs to trouble Nepal. For the team, who lost all its wickets in 34.5 overs, Muhammed Hajik scored the highest 16 runs, while Wan Muhammad Wajan also contributed 16 runs for the team. 

Likewise, Mureli scored 14 runs for the team, but no other players could get to the double figure and Malaysia lost miserably. 

Nepal’s Bishal Kumar Patel also claimed four wickets in the fantastic bowling performance. Patel conceded 18 runs bowling seven overs which included a maiden. Also, Nikhil Kumar Singh pocketed a wicket giving away six runs in six overs with a maiden. 

Earlier, in the group stage matches, Nepal had defeated Malaysia by 39 runs. 

Captain KC was adjudged the best player of the series, while Singapore’s Girin Rahul and Malaysia’s Hetij were named the best batsman and the best bowler of the tournament, respectively. 



Leave A Comment