Bigwigs up against rebel candidates

Published On: November 3, 2017 05:30 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Nov 3: Over a dozen central level leaders across the major parties have fallen in trouble as rebel candidates challenged their candidacies in the nomination for the upcoming federal parliament and provincial assembly polls on Thursday.

Leaders, who were not happy with the selection of the party's official candidates, filed their independent candidacies in a number places. In some cases, new entrants in the party have registered as independent candidates, expressing dissatisfaction over the parties' refusal to give them tickets. 

District Committee Member of CPN (UML), Laxmi Prasad Shrestha has registered his candidacy against leader Madhav Kumar Nepal in Kathmandu constituency-2, whereas Nepali Congress leader Govinda Raj Joshi has filed his nomination against Ram Chandra Paudel in Tanahun-1.

Likewise, Jaya Prakash Thakur of Federal Socialist Forum Nepal (FSFN) has stood against the party's chairperson Upendra Yadav in Saptari-2. Top leader of Rastriya Janata Party Nepal (RJPN) Mahantha Thakur has been challenged by independent candidate Chandreshwar Jha, who was elected in the last CA poll as an independent candidate in Mahottarai-3. Jha had recently joined the RJPN. 

In Rautahat-1, FSFN leader Baban Singh has stood against RJPN leader Anil Jha, although the two Madhes-based parties had forged an electoral alliance in Madhes districts. 

Nepali Congress (NC) affiliated Nepal Students Union (NSU) leader Kshitiz Bhandari has filed his candidacy against Dr Arzoo Rana Deuba, who is also the first lady, in Kailali-5. 
Likewise, former Minister for General Administration, Tek Bahadur Basnet of CPN (Maoist Center) has been challenged by Bhim Prakash Sharma of the same party in Salyan, while Maoist Center leader Ram Kumar Pokharel has stood against Hari Bol Gajurel of the same party in Sindhuli-2.  

Interestingly, Komal Oli, who recently joined the CPN-UML, has filed her candidacy against the UML's official candidate Hira Chandra KC in Dang-3.Oli was previously with the Kamal Thapa-led Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP).

Leave A Comment