3 NEA board members sacked for non-cooperation to reduce power cut

Published On: December 19, 2016 01:58 PM NPT

KATHMANDU, Dec 19: The Ministry of Energy has sacked three board members of Nepal Electricity Authority (NEA) for their non-cooperation to the campaign to reduce power cut.

Board members Suraj Lamichhane, Manoj Mishra and Laxman Agrawal were sacked by a ministerial-level decision on December 15, Assistant Spokesperson to the Ministry, Gokarna Raj Pantha told Republica Online.

“The Ministry has already submitted the dismissal and the appointment letters to the sacked and the newly-appointed board members,” he said.

According to him, Bhakta Bahadur Pun, Chet Raj Joshi and Umesh Prasad Dhani have been appointed as the new NEA board members.

The sacked board members had drawn flak for opposing a number of key agenda items tabled by Managing Director Kulman Ghising at a board meeting.

They had written separate minutes of the baord meeting held on November 25 and asked Ghising to implement it. They had also forwarded the minutes to the Commission for Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA).  The NEA board has seven members.

In the minutes, the three had objected to the MD's decisions on employee transfers and the signing of power purchase agreements, among other things, claiming that only the board can decide such issues.


Leave A Comment