Which local unit do you belong to?

Published On: March 11, 2017 10:19 AM NPT

KATHMANDU, March 11: The government has decided to implement the new local administrative structure consisting of 744 local units from Sunday.

With the publication of the list of 744 local bodies in the official gazette, the recently approved local administrative structure envisioned in the constitution is going to be effective from tomorrow.

The cabinet meeting recently held had endorsed the report of Local Level Restricting Commission (LLRC) in which 744 local units have been proposed.

With the implementation of this new local administrative structure, the old structure will no longer be in existence. According to the new structure, VDCs  will be replaced with village councils.

This administrative restructuring is the third historic restructuring in the modern history of Nepal.

The first restructuring was carried out in 2018 BS after King Mahendra took power in 2017 BS by ousting the then democratically elected Prime Minister BP Koirala.

The King-led Panchayat regime introduced Village Panchayat, Town Panchayat and District Panchayat by repealing such old local units as Gram, Gadhi, , Thum and Goswara. The decision to restructure the then local administrative structure took effect in 2019 BS .

After the political change of 2046 BS, the ensuring government transformed Village Panchayat, Town Panchayat and District Panchayat into Village Development Committee, Municipality and District Development Committee respectively.

See which local unit do you belong to?

Leave A Comment