Here is where the ‘top leaders’ are fighting the Nov 20 elections from

Published On: October 9, 2022 06:45 PM NPT By: Sajira Shrestha

KATHMANDU, Oct 9: The Federal Parliament and provincial assemblies’ elections are scheduled for November 20. The Election Commission had requested all the candidates to submit their documents to the commission’s office from 10 AM to 5 PM on October 9 (today).

With this, leaders of various political parties all seemed busy filing their candidacies from their respective constituencies. Here’s where the top leaders have filed their candidacies from.

Prime Minister and President of Nepali Congress (NC) Sher Bahadur Deuba has registered his candidature for the membership of the House of Representatives (HoR) from Dadeldhura. His wife, Arju Rana registered his candidacy on his behalf. Similarly, CPN-UML Chairperson KP Sharma Oli  has registered his candidacy from Jhapa-5 while Chairman of the CPN (Maoist Center), Pushpa Kamal Dahal filed his candidacy from Gorkha-2.

Chairman of CPN (Unified Socialist) Madhav Kumar Nepal registered his candidacy from his home district Rautahat constituency 1. National Independent Party President Rabi Lamichhane is set to fight the election from Chitwan-2. Rabindra Mishra, Senior Vice Chairman of Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) has registered his candidature for the membership of HoR from Kathmandu Constituency No 1.

Similarly, Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) Chairman Rajendra Lingden  registered his nomination papers from Jhapa Constituency No 3 while Kamal Thapa, Chairman of Rastriya Prajatantra Party Nepal will fight the election from Makwanpur-1 from the symbol ‘sun’ of the CPN-UML.

Likewise, Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) Chairman Upendra Yadav, Janamat Party Chairman Dr CK Raut and Loktantrik Samajwadi Party Jay Prakash Thakur have been confirmed to fight election from Saptari Constituency No 2.

There will be a contest between Nepali Congress (NC) youth leader Pradip Paudel, CPN-UML Senior Vice-chairman Ishwar Pokhrel and independent candidate Ranju Darshana in Kathmandu- 5. Similarly, in Kathmandu-1, there will be a fight between NC leader Prakash Man Singh, RPP Senior Vice-chairman Rabindra Mishra, Kiran Poudel of CPN-UML and independent candidate Pukar Bam.

Meanwhile, General Secretary of NC, Bishwa Prakash Sharma has registered his candidature from Jhapa-1. NC’s Shekhar Koirala registered the nomination from Morang-6 and senior leader Ramchandra Paudel is a candidate from Tanahun constituency 1.

In addition to this, CPN (Maoist Center) leader Janardan Sharma registered his candidacy in Rukum West while Deputy General Secretary of Maoist Center Barshaman Pun has registered his candidature from Rolpa. Likewise, the party Center is set to field women candidates in four out of five regions in the Kathmandu Valley. Pampha Bhusal has got a ticket from Lalitpur-3. In Kathmandu-7, Manushi Yami Bhattarai got a ticket while Kalpana Dhamala got a ticket in Kathmandu-9. In Bhaktapur-1, Suresh Neupane got the ticket from the Maoist party.

From CPN (Unified Socialist), Jhalnath Khanal will fight election from Ilam-1, Jeevan Ram Shrestha from Kathmandu-8, Ram Kumari Jhakri from Gulmi-2 and Metmani Chaudhary from Dang-1, among others.  


Leave A Comment