10,888 polling stations determined across the country

Published On: September 6, 2022 08:42 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Sept 6: The Election Commission (EC) has determined a total of 10,888 polling stations across the country for upcoming elections to the members of House of Representatives and Provincial Assembly scheduled for November 20. 

There were a total of 10,756 polling stations in the local level elections held on May 13 earlier this year. 

The EC reviewed the number of polling stations keeping in view the number of voters, convenience and security sensitivities in accordance with the Polling Station and Voting Center Fixation Work Procedure, 2077. 

The EC took the decision to make polling management effective and ensure easy access of voters to the voting process. 

In line with the arrangements specified in the Working Procedure, the revision was also grounded on the recommendations received from the district polling station and voting center fixation recommendation committee. 

The recommendations were also premised on several aspects such as voters' density, access to polling station, building, communications, electricity, transport, status of infrastructure, security and geographical situation and consensus among electoral stakeholders. 

According to the EC Spokesperson Shaligram Sharma Poudel, the number of polling stations has reached 10,888.


Leave A Comment