Fight erupts over name recommendation for Nov 20 polls in Dhanusha

Published On: September 4, 2022 02:30 PM NPT By: Suresh Yadav

JANAKPURDHAM, Sept 4: A clash erupted between the supporters of the two leaders over the recommendation of the candidate for the member of the House of Representatives of Dhanusha Constituency No 2.

At the regional committee meeting of Nepali Congress (NC) in Jhitkohia located in Aurhi Village-1 on Saturday, a fight broke out between the supporters of leader Ram Krishna Yadav and Mukta Kumari Yadav over the name recommendation.

On Friday, a meeting of the regional committee was held to recommend the names of the candidate for the member of the provincial assembly for the two Dhanusha constituencies. From that meeting, names of Ram Krishna Yadav and Mukta Kumari Yadav were recommended. The meeting was held again on Saturday to send only one leader's name by mutual agreement.

In the meeting that started at 2PM, the leaders and supporters of both the candidates wanted another side to withdraw the candidacy. After hearing the opinions of the participants in the meeting, Mukta shared her opinion. "Ram Krishna Yadav has stood three times from this constituency, in which he won both the Constituent Assembly elections. He was defeated in the last election to the House of Representatives. So now it's my turn, said Mukta. "This time Yadav should help me to win the direct election. If not, my name should also be sent. Whoever is given the ticket by the center, I will accept that.”

After listening to Mukta, Yadav said, "This is the last election for me. This time, please support me and recommend my name. In the next election, I will support Mukta without becoming a candidate, so I request you to support me this time and withdraw your candidacy."

However, both leaders maintained that they would not withdraw their candidacy. It was getting late in the evening when the position of both the leaders remained unchanged. In the meeting, the participants started leaving the meeting room to adjourn the meeting for that day and resume it for the next day.

At the same time, after seeing the minute of the meeting in the hands of Shravan Kusiyat, who is considered to be Yadav's confidant, Mukta supporters asked where the minute was being taken. Kusiait replied, “Janakpur '' and the dispute started. 

The dispute soon turned into a fight between the two groups. After the clash between the two groups, the participants went to their respective homes after deciding to hold a meeting again in Janakpur on Sunday and recommend candidates.

From Dhanusha Constituency, Ram Krishna Yadav won in 2064BS and 2070BS Constituent Assembly election by defeating the candidate of Maoist Center. In the 2074 BS election, he was defeated by Uma Shankar Aargaria, candidate of Federal Socialist. Mukta Yadav was a proportional member in the second Constituent Assembly and a member of the National Assembly in 2074 BS. She had a two-year term in the National Assembly.

Both these leaders were candidates in the 14th General Convention of Nepali Congress. Yadav was defeated in election to the Joint General Secretary, while Mukta was elected as the central member by getting the most votes.


Leave A Comment