Biratnagar: NC’s Koirala leading with 25,312 votes, UML’s Thapa trailing behind by over 6,000 votes

Published On: May 20, 2022 04:23 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

MORANG, May 20: The ruling alliance candidate for the mayoral post of Biratnagar Metropolis, Nagesh Koirala of the Nepali Congress (NC) is leading in the mayoral race with over 6,000 votes in the ongoing vote count. So far, Koirala has received 25,312 votes while his nearest rival Sagar Thapa of the CPN-UML received just 18,835 votes. Similarly, independent candidate Umesh Yadav has received 7,365 votes while RPP candidate Prahlad Sah has received 4,729 votes. 

Meanwhile, UML candidate for deputy mayor Silpa Nirala Karki is leading with 22,014 in Biratnagar, while her nearest rival from the ruling alliance Amrendra Yadav of JSP has received 12,366 votes. Similarly, RPP candidate for the same post Binda Luitel Acharya has received 5,765 votes while independent candidate Namita Neupane has received 4,550 votes. 

Vote counting has concluded in 12 wards of Biratnagar. Of which, UML has won in wards 1, 2, 3, 14, and 19 while NC has won in wards 5, 7, 15, and 16. Similarly, JSP has won in ward 17, RPP in ward 13 and an independent candidate in ward 18. 


Leave A Comment