KATHMANDU, March 18: Efforts to choose a name for Province 2 and a capital failed on Tuesday after the ruling coalition failed to garner the required two-thirds majority. Province 2, which covers eight districts of southern Nepal bordering India, has long been struggling to name itself and fix its capital.

BIRATNAGAR, Jan 12: Even though ruling party members of the provincial assembly of Province 1  have been saying in public that an 'agreement will be reached among political parties over naming the province', the process of formally deciding a name has been in limbo for the past several months while the provincial government awaits a nod from the center.

KATHMANDU, Dec 30: The ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) has instructed chief minister (CM) of Province 3, Dormani Poudel, to name the province as Bagmati and fix Hetauda as the provincial capital.

Parties divided over Province 2 name

August 23, 2019 07:01 am

JANAKPUR, Aug 23: Political parties in Province 2 are divided over naming the province as they registered different proposals at the provincial assembly secretariat to name the province on Thursday, the last day to register such proposals.