KATHMANDU, Oct 1: The Supreme Court has decided to acquit former Chief Justices Min Bahadur Rayamajhi, Anup Raj Sharma, Kalyan Shrestha and Sushila Karki in a contempt case.

The four former chief justices also said that Prime Minister Oli was forcibly staying in power even as he is automatically relieved from his post after he lost a vote of confidence in parliament.

KATHMANDU, May 26: The Constitution Watch Committee has concluded that the controversial move of Prime Minister K P Oli to dissolve parliament after he lost crucial vote of confidence in parliament has brought serious deviation in constitutional system and parliamentary democracy and affected implementation of judicial system in the country.

Former chief justices say demanding capital punishment that the constitution already prohibits is misguiding. The priority should be to effectively enforce laws against rape that country already has.