KATHMANDU, Aug 4: An independent group of youths from Dolpa district has vented their ire against the plan of the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) to field senior leader Bam Dev Gautam in a re-poll after forcing the elected lawmaker from the district Dhan Bahadur Budha to resign.

KATHMANDU, April 23: Delhi Daredevils has won the toss and elected to bat first in the 22nd match, Indian Premier League at Delhi.

KATHMANDU, April 19: Kings XI Punjab have won the toss and elected to bat first against Sunrisers Hyderabad in an Indian Premier League (IPL) game between two in-form teams in Mohali on Thursday.

NC forms task-force to elect PP leader

February 25, 2018 13:53 pm

KATHMANDU, Feb 25: A meeting of the Nepali Congress Central Working Committee has formed a three-member task-force to elect the Parliamentary Party leader on Sunday.

All provinces to elect speakers by Feb 15

February 11, 2018 01:20 am

KATHMANDU, Feb 10: As the schedule for the election of speakers draws nearer, the left alliance and Madhes-based political parties have either finalized their candidates for speakers or are working to finalize them.

DHANKUTA, Nov 7: The upcoming first phase of parliamentary and provincial elections slated for November 26 has gripped Sankhuwasabha district as well. As the day nears, the district with a total of 105,085 voters is keenly anticipating who would win the election battles and what would the future representatives have in store for them.

NEPALGUNJ, July 4: Nepalgunj electorate have elected Dhawal Shamsher Rana as their mayor second time. Rana was elected to Nepalgunj Municipality as a mayor 20 years ago. The only difference is that when a larger portion of the electorate in Nepalgunj voted for him in the local level elections held in 1997, he did not belong to Rastriya Prajatantra Party: he belonged to CPN-UML.

KATHMANDU, June 2: The Secretariat of the Legislature-Parliament has published the election schedule for the post of prime minister.

ITAHARI, June 1: Champa Shah, a local of Sunsari Barju Rural Municipality-5, spends her days selling tea. Despite being busy, she went to a program organized to inaugurate the Office of the Returning Officer on Monday, wearing a smile on her face.

KUKL board to elect new chairman

March 8, 2017 00:40 am

KATHMANDU, March 8: Kathmandu Upatyaka Khanepani Ltd (KUKL) is set to get a new chairman.

Voting underway to elect RPP leadership

February 20, 2017 15:34 pm

KATHMANDU, Feb 20:  A voting has started to elect the leadership of Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) at Bhrikutimandap in the Capital on Monday.

KATHMANDU, Sept 26: Speaker Onsari Gharti has urged senior leaders of major three parties to forge consensus to elect the presidents at different subject and special committees under the Legislature-Parliament.

Parliament to elect new PM Wednesday

August 2, 2016 02:10 am

KATHMANDU, Aug 2: A week after Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli submitted his resignation to President Bidya Devi Bhandari, Parliament is set to elect the 39th prime minister, on Wednesday.

House to elect new PM Wednesday

August 1, 2016 16:29 pm

KATHMANDU, Aug 1: The Legislature-Parliament will hold a voting to elect a new Prime Minister on Wednesday.

KATHMANDU, Aug 1: The process for electing the new government by a majority vote in Parliament will begin on Monday as the deadline set by President Bidya Devi Bhandari for forming the government through political understanding ends midnight Sunday.

KATHMANDU, July 26: President Bidya Devi Bhandari on Monday asked the parliament to initiate the process of forming a new government on the basis of political understanding within seven days. Earlier on Sunday, she had approved Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli's resignation.