SYDNEY, Dec 8: India captain Virat Kohli’s breezy 85 went in vain as Australia prevailed by 12 runs in the final Twenty20 International to avoid a series whitewash at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Tuesday.

NEW DELHI, Nov 11: India should embrace split-captaincy and put Rohit Sharma in charge of their T20 squad, several former cricketers said after the opener led Mumbai Indians to a fifth Indian Premier League (IPL) title on Tuesday.

UAE, Nov 10: A mouth-watering clash is likely to be held as the defending champions Mumbai Indians (MI) are taking on the first-time finalists Delhi Capitals (DC) in the summit clash of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Tuesday evening.

KATHMANDU, Mar 2: Prime and St Lawrence College secured respective wins on the second day of the ongoing eighth edition of nationwide Tribhuvan University BSC-CSIT Cup T20 cricket tournament in Kathmandu on Sunday.

JOHANNESBURG, Feb 21: Australia off-spinner Ashton Agar took a career-best 5-24, including a hat-trick, as they thrashed hosts South Africa by a massive 107 runs in the first Twenty20 International at The Wanderers on Friday.

ICC approves third edition of EPL

February 7, 2020 10:16 am

KATHMANDU, Feb 7: The franchise T20 cricket event Everest Premier League (EPL) has been approved by International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday.

DCC Birgunj upsets home team Stars

January 26, 2020 11:23 am

KATHAMANDU, Jan 26: DCC Birgunj won the inaugural match of the Birgunj Premier League T20 cricket event by 14 runs against home side Birgunj Stars held in Birgunj on Saturday.

NAPIER, Nov 8: Dawid Malan smashed a 48-ball century and skipper Eoin Morgan made a blistering 91 to help secure a series-levelling 76-run victory in the fourth Twenty20 international against New Zealand on Friday.

KATHMANDU, May 17: Nepal wheelchair cricket team conceded second straight loss on the second day of the Wheelchair Asia Cup T20 Cricket Tournament as it suffered an eight-wicket loss at the hands of Bangladesh in Kirtipur on Thursday.

Sonnet lifts 3rd Shahid Cup title

April 3, 2019 08:24 am

KATHMANDU, April 3: Kanpur’s Saurav Singh scored a match-winning 50 runs in the final of the 3rd Shahid T20 Cup cricket tournament to propel his team Sonnet Cricket Club to a victory by seven wickets against the home team Janakpur Cricket Club in the final match played at Barahabigha cricket ground in Janakpurdham on Tuesday.

Your daily dose of missed important news of the day.

KATHMANDU, March 7: Cricket boards of Europe’s leading associate cricket nations -- Scotland, Netherlands, and Ireland -- have come to an agreement to host a new franchise-based European T20 cricket league sanctioned by Cricket Scotland, from August 30 to September 22 this year, as per information released by cricket board of Scotland in its website.

DHANGADHI, Feb 24: Indian all-rounder Sunny Patel plays match-winning innings to inspire CYC Attariya to win the title by three wickets against Mahendranagar United in the final match of Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL) played at Fapla International Cricket Ground in Dhangadhi on Saturday.

DPL’s third season gets ICC approval

January 24, 2019 12:29 pm

KATHMANDU, Jan 24: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has approved the third edition of Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL), Nepal’s first franchise-based T20 event, scheduled to start from February 9 in Fapla Cricket Ground, Dhangadhi.

KATHMANDU, Oct 13: The Pokhara Premier League (PPL) franchise Chitwan Rhinos has announced the names of couple of local icon players for the inaugural season in Kathmandu on Friday. The PPL organized by Queens Event Management is set to commence on October 26 with final match slated for November 6.

KATHMANDU, Oct 9: Pokhara Premier League (PPL), Nepal’s latest T20 cricket extravaganza, has been recognized as an International Cricket Council (ICC)-sanctioned event by the apex governing body of cricket on Monday. The organizers confirmed receiving the official approval letter from the ICC.

KATHMANDU, Oct 3: No country has embraced T20 like Nepal in the last few years. From Everest Premier League (EPL) in Kathmandu to Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL) in the far-west and the latest extravaganza Pokhara Premier League (PPL) in Nepal’s top tourist destination Pokhara, T20 cricket has risen like a phoenix and is in the verge of being endemic among city and district-based franchise cricket leagues across the country.

KATHMANDU, Sept 29: A total of 179 players registered for the Pokhara Premier League (PPL) T20 Cricket Tournament to be organized by the Queen Events Private Limited will go under the hammer during the player auctions on Sunday.