Ruling coalition allocates seven seats to Loktantrik Samajwadi Party

Published On: October 9, 2022 09:53 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Oct 9: The ruling coalition has agreed to provide 7 seats in the House of Representatives and 16 in the Provincial Assembly to Loktantrik Samajwadi Party (LSP) led by Mahantha Thakur as a part of electoral alliance.

The number of seats has been decided after several rounds of discussions held since Saturday morning between the Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba and the top leaders of LSP. 

LSP had been demanding at least 10 seats in the HoR and 21 seats in the Provincial Assemblies. After a long discussion, LSP has agreed to field candidates in seven constituencies in the House of Representatives and 16 constituencies in the Provincial Assemblies, according to LSP leader Laxmanlal Karna.

LSP joined the alliance after it separated with the Janata Samajwadi Party led by Upendra Yadav.

According to the consensus reached within the ruling coalition, Nepali Congress will field 91 candidates for the House of Representatives, CPN (Maoist Center) 46, CPN (Unified Socialist) 19, LSP seven and Rastriya Janamorcha two constituencies.


Leave A Comment