Nepali Congress, CPN-UML emerge as largest parties in provincial assemblies

Published On: December 5, 2022 04:30 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Dec 5: The Election Commission has announced the results of the first-past-the-post election system of all the 330 constituencies of the seven provincial assemblies.

The Nepali Congress and the CPN-UML have emerged as the largest parties in three provinces each. The NC has become the largest party in Bagmati, Gandaki and Sudurpaschim provinces, while the UML has secured the highest number of provincial assembly seats in Province 1, Madhesh Province and Lumbini Province. In Karnali province, The NC and CPN (Maoist Center) have won nine seats each.

Nepali Congress has secured a total of 111 seats in the provincial assemblies. The CPN-UML got managed to win 91 seats, followed by CPN (Maoist Center) with 54 seats, CPN (Unified Socialist) with 15 seats, Rastriya Prajatantra Party  (RSP) and Janata Samajwadi Party Nepal (JSP)  11 each, Loktantrik Samjwadi Party (LSP) nine seats, Janamat Party and Nagarik Unmukti Party seven each and Nepal Workers and Peasants Party and Hamro Swabhiman Party with one seat each. According to the Election Commission (EC), 12 independent candidates have secured a seat in the Provincial  Assembly.

Out of 56 seats under FTPT category in Province 1, the UML has won 25 seats, the Nepali Congress has secured 17 seats, Maoist Center nine and CPN Unified Socialists two.

Similarly, out of 64 seats in Madhes Province, the UML has won 15, followed by 13 seats of Nepali Congress, nine of JSP, seven of LSP, six of Janamat Party, four each of Maoist Center and CPN- United Socialist. Six independent candidates have won a seat each in the Madhesh Province Assembly.

In Bagmati Province, out of the total 66 seats, the Nepali Congress has won 25, Maoist Center 14, UML 13, RPP seven, Unified Socialist  five and Nepal Workers and Peasants Party and Hamro Nepali Party one each.

Similarly, Nepali Congress has emerged as the largest party in Gandaki Province winning 18 out of 36 seats, followed by the UML with 12 seats, Maoist Centre with five seats and one independent candidate securing a seat in the Gandaki Provincial Assembly.

In Lumbini Province, the UML has won 18 out of 52 seats, while the Congress is second with 17 seats, followed by Maoist Centre with five seats, RPP, JSP, LSP and Nagarik Unmukti Party with two seats each, Janmaat Party one seat and three independent candidates.

Out of 24 seats in Karnali Provincial Assembly, the Nepali Congress and Maoist Centre have won nine seats each, while the UML has secured five seats and on independent candidate has emerged victorious.

Similarly, out of 32 seats in Sudurpaschim Provincial Assembly, the Nepali Congress has won 12, Maoist Center eight, Nagarik Unmukti Party  five, UML and CPN United Socialist three each and one independent candidate  has also secured a place in the state assembly.


Leave A Comment