Lumbini Province

Chief Minister Pokharel loses majority as JSP Minister Rayamajhi resigns

Published On: July 2, 2021 05:03 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, July 2: State Minister for Physical Infrastructure Development in Lumbini Province, Suman Sharma Rayamajhi has tendered her resignation.

State Minister Rayamajhi, who is also a provincial assembly member of Lumbini Province, submitted her resignation letter to Chief Minister Shankar Pokharel on Friday.

Rayamajhi has stated that she was not in a position to continue working as minister as her party Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) decided not to support the Pokharel-led government.

Earlier, Chief Minister Pokharel had appointed four JSP lawmakers as ministers in his cabinet apparently to save his government. All those four JSP lawmakers appointed as ministers were close to the Mahantha Thakur-led faction of the JSP. The resignation of Rayamajhi from the post of minister is seen as her attempt to become a part of the Upendra Yadav-led faction of the JSP.

Chief Minister Pokharel has lost his majority after CPN (Maoist Center) withdrew its support and JSP also remains divided on whether to support his government. While the Thakur-led faction has supported the government, the Yadav-led faction of the JPS has opposed Pokharel’s continuation as the chief minister.

Leave A Comment