Youth PoY award motivating young players

Published On: September 8, 2017 03:00 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, September 8: The Youth Player of the Year holds a distinct significance in the Pulsar Sports Award as it has always been a real motivation both to the young performers and nominees.

U-19 cricket team captain Dipendra Singh Airee, national football team's member Ananta Tamang, judoka Manita Shrestha Pradhan, lifter Kamala Shrestha and spiker Pratibha Mali are in line to win the Youth PoY category to get another major boost in their career that has begun with a spark.  

Dipendra Singh Airee made his debut with the senior side during the ICC World Cricket League Championship matches against Kenya at home, and smashed 211 runs in a single year for the team.  

National team's defender Ananta Tamang was instrumental for Nepal to win the AFC Solidarity Cup in Malaysia. 

The new face of Nepali judo, Manita Shrestha Pradhan won a bronze in the 10th Asian Cadet Judo Championship. She also bagged three gold medals in the 7th National Games. 

Weightlifter Kamala Shrestha set four new national records last year - the best of all was when she lifted 140kg to shatter records of senior level despite competing as a junior player in the Youth and Junior Asian Weightlifting Championships in Japan. 

At a very young age, Pratibha Mali has been a household name in Nepali volleyball. Her fine performance inside the court continued for yet another year after she helped New Diamond Academy win four titles in the domestic circuit.

Leave A Comment