Yadav-led JSP faction ‘expels’ four leaders including Thakur

Published On: June 1, 2021 03:11 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 29: The Upendra Yadav-led faction of the Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) has ‘expelled’ four senior leaders including chairman of the party, Mahantha Thakur, from the party. 

A meeting of the party's central executive council held on Tuesday at the party's office in Balkumari took the decision to expel Thakur, Rajendra Mahato, Laxman Lal Karna and Sarbendra Nath Sukha from the party after they failed to furnish clarifications within the stipulated deadline, according to Mohammad Istiyaq Rai. The party has already sent a letter to the Election Commission informing the poll body about its decision.

Earlier on May 29, the Yadav-led faction that commands majority in the party's central executive committee had sent letters to the four leaders to submit clarifications within 24 hours. Office chief of JSP's Central Office, Prakash Adhikari had sent separate letters to Thakur, Mahato, Karna and  Shukla asking them to submit clarifications. 

The JSP faction led by Yadav and Dr Baburam Bhattarai had earlier sought clarifications from the four leaders on May 22 after they decided to support the KP Oli-led government. The 24-hour deadline was given again to submit clarifications after they failed to submit the clarification.

Party insiders said the expelled leaders are now likely to revive the Rastriya Janata Party, while Yadav and Bhattarai will be part of the Janata Samajbadi Party. 

Leave A Comment