Warriors clinch EPL title in one-run-cliffhanger

Published On: December 30, 2017 03:42 PM NPT

KATHMANDU, Dec 30: Bhairahawa Gladiators lost five wickets adding 15 runs to the total in their last three overs of the chase to concede the cliffhanger of a match by a run against Biratnagar Warriors. Gladiators lost three wickets in the last over only mustering seven runs when they required nine runs to win.

Paras Khadka picked up three crucial wickets of Aarif Sheikh, Pratham Salunke and Rohit Poudel to set the match for Biratnagar. Anil Kumar Sah, bowling for the first time in the tournament, delivered three economical overs including last over of the match in which he conceded seven runs and picked up three wickets fell to seal the match for Biratnagar Warriors. Sri Lanka pace bowler Sahan Adeesha went out injured and Anshuman Rath didn’t bowl after the nightmare of his first over.

Anshuman Rath conceded 36 runs in his only over of the match which has Bhairahawa Gladiators a head start and upper hand in the match. Rath struggled to complete his arm action in a bizarre incident as he conceded three no balls and three wides. Gladiators skipper Sharad Vesakwar took full advantage and smashed Rath for four sixes in that over. Sharad also scored his first fifty of the tournament off 35 deliveries. He was dismissed run-out by Karan KC on 52.

The leading wicket-taker of the tournament Basant Regmi was negotiated cautiously for 11 runs in his four overs without a wicket.

The Bhairahawa Gladiators’ off-spinner Hari Shankar Shah dismissed Biratnagar Warriors skipper Paras Khadka and Hong Kong batsman Anshuman Rath in his four-over spell to restrict Warriors for 149 runs for seven wickets in 20 overs.

Earlier, Warriors won the toss and elected to bat first in 11 AM start for final of Everest Premier League. Anshuman Rath top scored with run-a-ball 41 including four boundaries and a six. The most decisive moment for Gladiators came when Aarif Shiekh dismissed Babar Hayat on 11 runs for a caught behind by wicketkeeper Rahul Shah. The Hong Kong skipper Babar Hayat is the highest scorer of the tournament.

Warriors’ skipper Paras Khadka played a cameo of 27 runs from 22 deliveries which included two fours and a six. The U-19 batsman Anil Sah contributed 22 runs from 17 deliveries with two fours and a six in the middle to boost the Warriors total.

The former U-19 bowler Krishna Karki also picked up two wickets for Gladiators. Aarif Sheikh and Gladiators skipper Sharad Vesawkar chipped in with a wicket each.

Final Match Summary

Biratnagar Warriors (Toss) 149/7 (20 Ov)
Anshuman Rath 41 (41) (4 fours, 1 six)
Paras Khadka 27 (22) (1 four, 2 six)
Anil Sah 22 (17) (2 fours, 1 six)

Krishna Karki 4-0-16-2
Hari Shankar Shah 3-0-27-2

Bhairahawa Gladiators 148/9 (20 Ov)
Sharad Vesawkar 52 (39) 4 fours, 4 sixes
Pratham Salunke 30 (27) 3 fours, 1 six
Aarif Sheikh 27 (26) 1 four, 2 sixes
Paras Khadka 3.5-0-18-3
Anil Kumar Sah 3-0-19-2
Karan KC 4-0-29-2

Warriors won the match by a wicket. Man of the match: Paras Khadka

Leave A Comment