VP, VC elections today

Published On: March 18, 2018 09:03 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

MARCH 18: Elections for Vice President and National Assembly’s vice chairperson is scheduled for today.

Following the re-election of President Bidya Bhandari last week, the incumbent Vice-President Nanda Bahadur Pun, too, is poised to get reelected to the post for the next five years today.

After Pun's sole candidacy was filed for the post in the given deadline between 10 am to 2 pm on Saturday, the Election Commission (EC) will announce his election to the post by today evening, according to EC Spokesperson Nawaraj Dhakal.

According to Spokesperson for the Parliament Secretariat Bharat Raj Gautam, CPN-Maoist Center lawmaker Sashikala Dahal and Nepali Congress lawmaker Brinda Devi Ale (Rana) are contesting for the post in today’s election. It will be taking place at the National Assembly. Dahal is the common candidate of the left alliance, Dahal was elected from Province 2 and Ale was elected from Province 4 under hte women's quota.


Leave A Comment