Voting results will be available by November 29 except for three districts

Published On: November 27, 2022 04:30 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Nov 27: The Election Commission is in the final stage of announcing the results of the general elections held on November 20.

According to the latest results of vote count, Nepali Congress (NC) has won the highest number of seats in the House of Representatives (HoR) under the first-past-the-post (FPTP) electoral system.

According to the Election Commission (EC), the NC has so far won 53 seats in the lower house of parliament and is ahead in the vote count in three constituencies as of Sunday afternoon.

Likewise, the CPN (UML) has won 41 seats and has maintained its lead in two constituencies. CPN (Maoist Center) has won 17 seats, followed by CPN (Unified Socialist) 10, Rastriya Prajatantra Party and Rastriya Swatantra Party seven each.

Similarly, Loktantrik Samajwadi Party Nepal has won six seats and has maintained a lead in one constituency. Independent candidates have won five seats in parliament, while Janata Samajwadi Party has won four seats and Nagarik Unmukti Party has won three seats.

Due to disputes in some constituencies, the counting of votes has been delayed or postponed in those places. Shaligram Sharma Poudel, the spokesperson of the EC, informed Republica that the results of FTPT and PR votes of all other districts except Bajura, Dolakha and Syangja will be available by this evening or tomorrow (Monday).

Spokesperson Poudel said that the EC will publish the results of all the districts except those three not later than November 29.

The commission assured that it will take necessary measures to resolve the problems seen in Bajura, Dolakha and Syangja and all the voting results will be available as soon as possible.


Leave A Comment