Upper House election starts (Photo feature)

Published On: February 7, 2018 10:28 AM NPT

KATHMANDU, Feb 7: Voting in six of the seven provinces for the National Assembly elections started from 10 AM today. After all candidates from Province 2 were elected unopposed, only six provinces are holding their elections.

Constitutionally, there will be a 59 member upper house. Out of the total 59 members, the 56 will be elected from voting while the remaining three will be nominated by the government.

So far, 24 candidates have already been elected unopposed. Today’s voting will elect remaining 32 members.

As per the constitution, each province elects eight members for the National Assembly. Chiefs and deputy chiefs of 753 local units and members of the provincial assembly will elect the upper house through single transferrable voting system.

Photos: Dipesh Shrestha/Republica

Leave A Comment