UPDATE: Identities of nine people who died in tragic bus accident in Baitadi established

Published On: November 13, 2020 04:46 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

BAITADI, Nov 13: Identities of nine people who died in a tragic bus accident Thursday night at Khodpe of Patan Municipality-9 in Baitadi district have been established, local police officials said.

According to Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP) Narayan Prasad Adhikari, the deceased have been identified as Rana Bahadur Chand and Karan Singh Airee, both of Sittad in Dogadakedar-6, Kabindra Joshi, an employee at Dogadakedar Rural municipality office, Tarkaraj Giri of Lekam Rural Municipality-4 in Darchula District, Jaganath Ojha of Malikarjun Rural municipality-5, Kritika Karki of Tilachaur at Bhimdatta Municipality-8 in Kanchanpur District, Bijjna Dhami of the Municipality-10, Narendra Chaudhary of Dhangadhi Sub Metropolitan City-4 and Rishiram Chaudhary of the Sub-metropolitan city-18.

Of the deceased, Kritika died at a hospital in Dadeldhura and other eight died on the spot. Of the 34 injured people in the tragic accident including the driver of the ill-fated bus, 12 have been referred to Dhangadhi for further treatment and the rest of other 22 are receiving treatment at Dadeldhura hospital.

At least 34 people were injured when a passenger bus met with the accident at Khodpe of Patan Municipality-8 in Baitadi along the Dashrath Chand Highway around 10:30 pm on Thursday. 

The incident took place when the bus (Na 5 Kha 5141), en route to Mahendranagar from Ganna of Darchula district, skidded some 600 meters off the road at a narrow bend.




Leave A Comment