UPDATE: Dang bus accident toll climbs to 23, 12 deceased identified

Published On: December 22, 2018 01:41 PM NPT By: SHIVA LAL SUBEDI

DANG, Dec 22: The death toll in the Dang bus accident has reached 23. Among those killed are four women and 19 men. Similarly, 15 people have sustained critical injuries.

The deceased have been identified as Padam KC, 32 of Ghorahi Sub Metropolitan City-3, Pradeep Ghimire of Ghorahi-17, Sanjit Ratgainya, 30 of Dangisharan rural municipality-1, Naresh Oli, 28, of Rukum Bhume rural municipality and Bijaya GM, 17, of Ghorahi-14.

Similarly, those who succumbed to their injuries while undergoing treatment at Kohalpur Medical College are Atish Nepali of Jajarkot, Hikmat Bohara of Jumla, Khemraj Bhatta of Kanchanpur and Birendra Kandara of Juma Kankasundari rural municipality-5.

The injured have been referred to Kohalpur Medical College after preliminary treatment at Rapti Zonal Hospital, Dang.

 The ill-fated bus (Ba 4 Kha 9766) was on its way back to Dang with students and teachers from Martyr Krishna Sen Ichchhuk Polytechnic Institute when it skidded off the road and plunged some 600 meters down into a gorge. They were headed home from an educational trip to Mulpani Botanical Park at Kapurkot, Salyan.

A total of 37 people – 32 students, two teachers and three bus staffers – were travelling in the bus.

The accident comes at a time when road accidents have spiked across the nation. Last Friday, 20 passengers died when an overcrowded mini-truck fell 300 meters from the road at Dupcheshwar Rural Municipality-7, of Nuwakot. Serious concern has been raised about lack of road safety in Nepal.


11:55 AM: Severely injured ones have been taken to Kathmandu for further treatment. With the coordination of Chief Minister of Province 5 a helicopter has been sent to Kohalpur. 

1:30 PM: Out of total 23 deaths, 12 deceased have been identified.

Madan Khatri Chhetri, Bijay Gharti, 19 and Pradip Ghimire, 28, of Ghorahi Sub Metropolitan City, Ward 3, Naresh Oli, 28, of Rukum Bhume rural muncipality-06, Kusum Rawal, 16, and Khemraj Bhatta, 17, of Jumla Chandannath municipality-06, Aatis Nepali, 17, of Jajarkot Bheriganga municipality-04.

Likewise, Birendra Kandara, 20, of Jumla Kakasundari rural municipality-05, Sailaja Shahi, 17, of Jumla Hima rural municipality-05, Bijay Gharti 19, of Ghorahi, Babita Khatri, 21, of Babai rural municipality and Sanjit Ratgaiya, 20, of Dangisaran rural municpality died in the accident informed District Police Office, Dang.



Leave A Comment