Unanimous leadership in 55 wards of Jhapa

Published On: September 5, 2021 08:24 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

JHAPA, Sept 5: The Nepali Congress (NC) unanimously elected the party’s leadership in 55 wards of Jhapa district in the lead up to the upcoming 14th General Convention of the Nepali Congress. Regional representatives and ward level chairpersons and other office bearers have been unanimously elected in 131 wards while conventions are underway in other wards, according to chief of the party's District Publicity Department Krishna Humagain. 

There are more than 33,000 active members of the ruling Nepali Congress in the district.

Ram Kattel, who has announced his candidacy for the post of district chairman, has been unanimously elected as the regional representative. According to Humagain, all the 80 regional representatives and the ward working committee members including Kattel from Mechinagar Ward no. 10 were unanimously elected. Leader Kattel is currently the party's district vice president.

Chairman and other office bearers were elected unopposed in eight wards of Mechinagar, four wards of Birtamod, five wards of Arjundhara, four wards of Kankai, seven wards of Jhapa village municipality, three wards of Shivasatasidham, one ward of Kamal, one ward of Gauradaha, two wards of Gauriganj, three wards of Bhadrapur and four wards of Bahardashi Rural Municipalities.

The ward working committee and regional representatives have been unanimously elected in wards 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 and 15 in Mechinagar of Constituency No. 1. District level leaders said efforts are being made to reach consensus in other wards as well, said Mani Upreti, Regional President.


Leave A Comment