UML wins polls in Sankhuwasabha

Published On: December 11, 2017 07:38 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

SANKHUWASABHA, Dec 11: CPN-UML candidate Rajendra Prasad Gautam has been elected to the House of Representatives, defeating Nepali Congress candidate Dipak Khadka with a margin of 1,130 votes.

Gautam secured 32, 769 votes while his closest rival of Nepali Congress Dipak Khadka obtained 31, 639 votes. In the second Constituent Assembly elections, Gautam had suffered a defeat at the hand of Khadka.

With one parliamentary constituency and two provincial constituencies, in Sankhuwasabha, the elections were held in the first round of polls on November 26.

As many as 69, 246 voters had cast their votes in 153 polling centers of 103 polling stations.

In provincial constituencies, left alliance-backed candidates are taking lead in the vote count, according to District Election Office. 

Leave A Comment