UML wins mayor, deputy mayor in Bheriganga Municipality

Published On: May 19, 2022 02:27 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KARNALI, May 19: The CPN-UML has won the posts of mayor and deputy mayor in Bheriganga Municipality of Surkhet. Yagya Prasad Dhakal was elected the mayor and Dhansara Bohara the deputy-mayor through the local level elections held on May 13. 

Dhakal secured 10,022 votes to defeat his closest competitor Ram Bahadur Singh who finished the race with 9,797. Singh was the mayoral candidate from the Nepali Congress-CPN (Maoist Center) electoral alliance.

The winner of the deputy-mayor election, Bohara, got 9,614 against 8,913 by her closest competitor Narendra Bahadur Karki from the Maoist Center. It may be noted that the NC had won both major posts in the municipality in the 2017 election. 


Leave A Comment