UML secures 6 municipalities in Kathmandu; NC in 4

Published On: May 22, 2017 09:04 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 22: CPN-UML has emerged victorious in six municipalities out of ten in Kathmandu district. As the result of Budhanilkantha municipality was out on Monday evening, Uddhav Kharel of the party has been elected as mayor with 13246 votes. His immediate rival Raju Shrestha of Nepali Congress has scored 8927 votes.

Similarly, UML clinched the post of the deputy-mayor as Rama Rai of UML garnered 13188 votes and her closest rival Shubhadra Khadka received 9768 votes.

The CPN-UML has held post of mayor in Shankharapur, Tarkeshowre, Tokha, Kirtipur and Kageshwori Manahar municipalities as well whereas, the NC has confirmed Nagarjun, Dakshinkali, Chandragiri and Gokarneshwore municipalities for mayoral post.

Kathmandu district has ten municipalities and one metropolis. 

Leave A Comment