UML, Maoist Center take lead in one unit each in Darchula

Published On: June 29, 2017 08:27 AM NPT By: PREM CHUNARA

DARCHULA, June 29: CPN-UML and CPN (Maoist Center) have taken initial lead in one local unit each in Darchula.

In Lekam Rural Municiaplity, UML candidate Parmananda Joshi has taken lead with 411 votes in the contest for chairman while Nepali Congress candidate Uttam Nath and Maoist Center candidate Ram Dutta Joshi remained in contest with 289 votes each.

UML candidate Madhavi Joshi is leading the contest for vice-chair with 415 votes while Maoist Center candidate Harina Joshi garnered 283 votes so far.

In Marma Rural Municipality, Jaman Singh Dhami of Maoist Center is taking lead with 105 votes in the contest of chairperson. Dev Singh Mahar of UML is far behind with 39 votes.

Maoist Center candidate Bagmati Thaguna is leading the vice-chair contest with 104 votes while UML's Kamala Bista has garnered 36 votes so far.

Vote counting has just began in Mahakali Municipality of the district while Office of the Returning Officer in Byas Rural Municipality is making arrangements to send helicopters to collect ballot boxes from remote polling stations in the unit.

Leave A Comment