UML Chairman Oli summons Standing Committee for 5PM today

Published On: May 30, 2021 01:13 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, May 30: Prime Minister and Chairman of the ruling CPN-UML, KP Sharma Oli has called a Standing Committee meeting of the party for 5 PM on Sunday. 

According to Subash Nembang, a Standing Committee member, the meeting will dwell upon various internal matters of the party. “However, we have not been informed about today’s meeting’s agenda,” he said. 

The meeting is expected to take necessary decisions whether or not to take action against the 12 former lawmakers -- close to senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal-- of the lower house of parliament. They were earlier asked to furnish clarifications. The  12 leaders including Surendra Pandey, Birodh Khatiwada, Jeevan Ram Shrestha, Ghanshyam Bhusal, Som Prasad Pandey, Krishnalal Maharjan, Jhapat Rawal, Bhawani Prasad Khapung, Yagya Sunuwar, Metmani Chaudhary, Deepak Prakash Bhatt and Narayan Khatiwada, however, did not submit any clarifications. 

Earlier, 11 lawmakers of the dissolved house including senior leader Nepal, Jhala Nath Khanal, Bhim Rawal, Mukunda Neupane, Ram Kumari Jhakri, Kalyani Khadka, Sarala Yadav, Pushpa Karna, Laxmi Chaudhary, Kalila Khatun and Nira Jairu  were expelled from the party even as the party’s ordinary member, on May 24.

Leave A Comment