Two alliances brace for fierce poll battle

Published On: October 28, 2017 01:26 AM NPT By: Bhagawati Lama

NUWAKOT, Oct 27: The upcoming election in Nuwakot district is set to be an interesting one, as a number of senior leaders of major parties are contesting the federal parliament and provincial assembly polls. 

The leaders have already expedited their election campaigns, highlighting their agenda for the development and well-being of the local people.

Senior Nepali Congress (NC) leader Ram Sharan Mahat said he is contesting from Nuwakot constituency no. 1 for the federal parliament to 'safeguard democracy and bring economic prosperity to the country'. His rival candidate from the UML-led left alliance, Maoist Center politburo member Hit Bahadur Tamang also said that he is going to the people for safeguarding constitution and bringing development to the district.

Similarly, NC leader Arjun Narasingh KC is contesting from Nuwakot constituency no. 2. He has made economic development of the district as his main agenda. The common candidate of the left alliance, Narayan Prasad Khatiwada who is the UML district committee chairman, claimed that his victory is almost certain as he has been working for the welfare of the district for the past several years. 

RPP (Nationalist) leader Pandey joins NC 

Meanwhile, Rastriya Prajatantra Party (Nationalist) leader Rajya Laxmi Pandey, who had filed her candidacy for the federal parliament from Nuwakot constituency no. 2, has withdrawn her candidacy and joined the NC. Pandey was RPP's candidate under the proportional electoral system during the second Constituent Assembly elections held in 2013. "I decided to be a part of the NC as it is the common responsibility of everyone to implement and safeguard the constitution and promote and strengthen democracy," she said. Issuing a press statement, she has announced to help NC secure victory in the upcoming polls.

Who are contesting for the provincial assembly?

In constituency 1a, the left alliance has fielded Radhika Tamang, while the NC-led alliance has Mahendra Thing as its candidate for the polls. Similarly, Ramesh Kumar Mahat is contesting from the NC-led alliance in Nuwakot 1b, and the UML-led alliance has fielded Badri Mainali for the provincial assembly polls.
NC leader Arjun Narasingh KC and UML leader Keshav Raj Pandey are contesting from Nuwakot 2a from the NC-led alliance and the left alliance, respectively. In Nuwakot constituency 2b, NC leader Jagat Bahadur Tamang from the NC-led alliance and Maoist leader Hira Nath Khatiwada from the left alliance are contesting for the provincial poll.

46 members in the fray

At least 11 of the total 57 candidates who had filed their candidacies for the polls have withdrawn from the race. Those withdrawing their candidacies for the federal parliamentary polls include Jayagar Tamang of UML, Narendra Prasad Phuyal of RPP (Democratic) and Shanta Bahadur Tamang of Naya Shakti Nepal from constituency 1. Similarly, provincial candidate of RPP (Democratic) Damodar Thapa Chhetri from constituency 1a and Dipak Kumar Rai from constituency 2b also withdrew their candidacies.
Similarly, three candidates who had filed their candidacies for parliamentary poll from constituency 2 have withdrawn their candidacies. They are Rajya Laxmi Pandey Shrestha of RPP (Nationalist), Narayan Paudel of Nepal Janloktantrik Party and Madhu Sudan Risal of RPP (Democratic).

While RPP (Democratic) provincial candidate Shiva Prasad Adhikari withdrew his candidacy from constituency 2 a, the provincial candidates withdrawing their candidacies from constituency 2 b include Hari Prasad Rijal of RPP (Democratic) and independent candidate Krishna Bahadur Khadka. They have announced to support NC candidates in the upcoming polls.

Six woman candidates contesting the polls

Altogether six women are contesting the upcoming federal and provincial assembly elections in Nuwakot. Although seven woman candidates had filed their candidacies, Rajya Laxmi Pandey of RPP (Nationalist) had later withdrawn her candidacy.
While independent woman candidate Alisha Thapa is contesting for the federal parliament from constituency 1, Laxmi Mudbhari of CPN (Mohan Baidya) is contesting from constituency 2.

Similarly, Radhika Tamang of CPN (Maoist Center), Gyurmi Sherpa of Naya Shakti Nepal, Sunita Thokar as independent candidate are contesting the provincial assembly polls from constituency 2 a. Likewise Rita Ojha is contesting for the provincial polls from constituency 2 b in the district as an independent candidate.

Leave A Comment