Twenty eight foreign players to play in Martyr's Memorial A-Division League

Published On: September 27, 2018 03:45 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Sept 27: The total 28 foreign players have been inducted into nine clubs to play in the Martyr's Memorial A-Division League scheduled to take place in Nepal from September 29. 

Of the total 14 A-Division clubs, 11 clubs are authorized to take in foreign players except for three departmental teams. 

A criteria set by the All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) requires maximum four foreign players (one must be from SAARC countries) to be inducted into a club. In case of a club that takes in only three foreign players, the rule will not applicable. 

Those clubs that have introduced foreign players include Three Star, Manang Marsyangdi, Jawalakhel Youth Club, Friends Club, Sankata, Saraswati Youth Club, New Road Team (NRT), Brigade Boys and Himalayan Sherpa Club. However, other two clubs--Chyasal Youth Club and Machhindra Club--are yet to induct foreign players. 

Those foreign players that have been inducted into Nepali clubs so far for the tournament include 12 from Nigeria, five from Cameroon, four from Ivory Coast, two from Guinea and one each from Mali, Burkina Faso, Ghana and Bangladesh. The total 91 matches will be played in the round-robin tournament. 

The winner will receive Rs 5 million, while the first runner-up Rs 3.5 million and second runner-up Rs 2.5 million. Likewise, the third runner-up will get Rs 1.5 million, the fourth runner-up Rs 700,000 and fifth runner-up Rs 500,000. The fair-play team will receive Rs 100,000. The ANFA will distribute Rs 50,000 to each winning team, and the man of the match will receive Rs 10,000. 


Leave A Comment