Tirtha Pun clinches five consecutive 10km Open Run title

Published On: February 22, 2020 05:50 PM NPT By: Rohit Koyu

DHARAN, Feb 22: Tirtah Pun of Baglung has registered his 5th consecutive win in men’s category of Dharan 10km Open Run organized as 8th Newa Charity Run by Prabhu Bank on Saturday.

In women category, Santoshi Shrestha has clinched the title.

Tirtha Pun completed 10 km run in 31.25 minutes.

By profession, Pun is associated with the Indian Army as a sportsperson.

Similarly, in men’s cataegory Laxman Malla completed the race in 31.33 minutes to be 1st runner up and Kim Bhadur Khatri completed the race in 31.35 minutes as 2nd runner up. Malla and Khatri both are the athletes of the Armed Police Force.

Likewise, in women’s category, Santoshi Shrestha finished the race in 34.23 minutes. While Ram Maya Pun and Chembi Rai secured 2nd and 3rd position finishing the race in 40.34 minutes and 42.2 minutes respectively.

In the both categories, the winner was awarded a trophy and a cash prize of Rs 50,000. The runner ups were provided with a trophy and cash prize of Rs 30,000 and Rs 20,000 respectively.

Furthermore, U-16 and U-12 race were also organized on the same day.

More than 4,000 athletes participated in Dharan 10 km Open Run this year. There was participation of foreign athletes from India, Bangladesh, Hong Kong and United Kingdom as well.


Leave A Comment