Three ministers take oath along with CM Yadav in Madhesh

Published On: January 13, 2023 04:30 PM NPT By: Surendra Yadav

JANAKPUR, Jan 13: The newly-appointed chief minister (CM) of Madhesh Province, Saroj Kumar Yadav, along with three ministers, took the oath of office and secrecy amidst a special function today. Province Chief Harishankar Mishra administered the oath to Chief Minister Yadav and three ministers on Friday.

On Wednesday, Province Chief Mishra appointed Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) leader Yadav as the CM as per Article 168 (2) of the Constitution.

Before that, Yadav had submitted a claim to the post of Chief Minister with the support of a total of 63 provincial assembly members, including 23 from CPN-UML, 16 from JSP, 13 from Janamat Party, 7 from CPN (Maoist Center), one each from Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) and Nagarik Unmukti Party, and two independent members.

CPN-UML, JSP and Janmat Party have sent one member each to the government. Saroj Yadav of UML, Sanjay Yadav of JSP and Janmat's Basant Kushwaha have become ministers without a portfolio. Province Chief Mishra along with CM Yadav administered the oath of office and secrecy to them.

Chief Minister Yadav was elected from Constituency 1 of Bara, Sanjay Sarlahi was elected from Constituency 3 and Saroj Mahottari of UML was elected from Constituency 1 of 4. Kushwaha of Janmat is a proportional member.

The ruling party CPN (Maoist Centre) did not take the oath expressing dissatisfaction with the power-sharing deal. However, Maoist Center’s Parliamentary Party leader Bharat Prasad Shah was present at the swearing-in ceremony.


Leave A Comment