Three-member committee formed to probe police brutality in Kathmandu

Published On: September 19, 2020 05:50 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

SSP Kiran Bajracharya leads the committee, which consists of DSP and Inspector

KATHMANDU, Sep 19: Amid widespread public criticisms, Nepal Police has formed a three-member committee to probe into police brutality on civilians in a peaceful demonstration held in Kathmandu on Friday and Thursday.

The Metropolitan Police Commissioner’s Office (MPCO), Ranipokhari, has formed a three-member committee led by Senior Superintendent of Police Kiran Bajracharya to probe into police brutality on Bablu Gupta and Manish Shrestha, who were manhandled by police personnel on duty at Maitighar and Baneshwor areas.

Bublu Gupta sustained minor injuries, while Shrestha had a deep cut in his head as police indiscriminately baton-charged them. Both of them had participated in a peaceful protest demanding reappointment of Kulman Ghising as the Managing Director of the Nepal Electricity Authority.

According to MPCO, Ranipokhari, the committee led by SSP Bajracharya has Deputy Superintendent of Police Bhawesh Rijal and Inspector Bishnu Pradip Basyal as members. The committee has been asked to submit an investigation report within a week.


Leave A Comment