Sandip named captain for ACC U-19 Asia Cup

Published On: December 6, 2016 08:50 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Dec 5: Sandeep Lamichhane has been named the captain of Nepal's U-19 cricket team that was announced on Sunday to take part in the upcoming ACC U19 Asia Cup to be held in Sri Lanka from December 13 to 24.  

Besides Sandeep, Sandeep Sunar and Deependra Singh Airee of the last U-19 national squad that competed in the ICC U-19 World Cup are also included in the 15 member final squad. 

The selection committee comprising of ICC representative Venkatapathi Raju, national cricket team head coach Jagat Tamata, and U-19 coach Binod Das finalized the squad from among 52 players. 

The selection committee had picked the 52 players from talent hunt programs conducted in different parts of the country including Biratnagar, Kathmandu, Bhairahawa, Nepalgunj and Dhangadhi.

The team comprises of Abinash Karna, Asif Sheikh, Dipendra Singh Airee, Sandip Sunar, Rabindra Jung Shahi, Aadil Khan, Bhim Sarki, Anil Kumar Shaha, Pawan Sarraff, Suwarnakar Uraw, Kamal Singh Airee, Nandan Yadav, Prakash KC and Rohit Kumar Poudel. 

Similarly, Shahab Alam, Kishor Mahato, Bikram Bhusal and Sushant Thapa have been kept in the reserve list. 

Sandeep had recently returned home after two-and-a-half-month training in Australia. During the training period, he had also played with local teams in Australia. 

Leave A Comment