TAC tops medal charts for athletics with 22 golds

Published On: January 10, 2018 11:31 AM NPT By: Amar Khadka

ITAHARI, Jan 10: Tribhuwan Army Club (TAC) has won National Athletics Competition under the National Sports Council (NSC) championship adding five more golds on the final day in Itahari to take their total tally to 22 for the event on Tuesday.

TAC won in the 5000 meters, 400 meters and 4×100 relay race for women along with 400 meters race and javelin throw for men on the final day to grab five gold medals.

Armed Police Force (APF) came second with seven golds followed by Nepal Police Club (NPC) at the third position. Central, mid-western, western and far-western regions occupied the remaining four positions, respectively, in the medal table.

5000 Meters Race

1st: Bishwarupa Budha (TAC, 18 min 00.95 sec) 
2nd: Santoshi Shrestha (CDR,  18 min 16.32 sec)
3rd: Chandra Rawat (TAC, 18 min 29.54 sec)
400 Meters Race
1st: Sangita Meche (TAC, 1 min 1.26 sec)
2nd: Krishna Chaudhary (TAC, 1 min 3.66 sec)
3rd: Dil Maya Karki (APF, 1 min 4.29 sec)
4×100 Relay Race
1st: Krishna Chaudhary, Sangita Meche, Ramita Chaudhary and Tulasa Shrestha (TAC, 52.50 sec)
2nd: Pramila Tharu, Jaya Rani Tharu, Nir Maya Bakhariya and Puja Chaudhary (MWDR, 55.14)
3rd: Dil Maya Karki, Shila Chaudhary, Saraswati Chaudhary and Bhagrathi Chaudhary (APF, 56.06)
Triple Jump
1st: Shila Chaudhary (APF, 10.77 meters)
2nd: Sangita Meche (TAC, 10.40 meters)
3rd: Puja Chaudhary (MWDR, 9.58)
Javelin Throw
1st: Chandrakala Lamkade (NPC, 43.49 meters)
2nd: Sima Kumari Tharu (APF, 41.98 meters)
3rd: Laxmi Tharu (TAC, 37.40 meters)

400 Meters Race
1st: Som Bahadur Kumal (TAC, 50.55 sec),
2nd: Jeevan Chaudhary (TAC, 52.14 sec) 
3rd: Nir Pratap Mahato (APF, 52.72 sec) 
Javelin Throw
1st: Rohit Chaudhary (TAC, 59.69 meters)
2nd: Birendra Chaudhari (NPC, 53.64 meters)
3rd: Prem Prakash Khadka (APF, 51.01 meters)
5000 Meters Race
1st: Gopi Chandra Karki (APF, 15 min 19.60 sec)
2nd: Ajit Kumar Yadav (APF, 15 min 21.57 sec)
3rd: Ramji Basnet (TAC, 15 min 28.33 sec)
4×100 Relay Race
1st: Ashish Chaudhary, Nir Pratap Mahato, Shivaraj Karki and Santa Bahadur Budha (APF, 44.88 sec)
2nd: Yam Sajan Sunar, Sarvesh Lamichhane, Ananda Dev Chaudhary and Abhishek Chaudhary (TAC, 45.11 sec)
3rd: Ashish Khatri, Raj Tamang, Arun Mahato and Chandreshwor Patel (MWDR, 46.12)
Triple Jump
1st: Chandra Dev Joshi (NPC, 13.98 meters)
2nd: Bhuvan Mahato (CDR, 13.85 meters)
3rd: Sher Bahadur Bista (TAC, 13.76 meters)

National shooting competition from Wednesday
KATHMANDU, Jan 10: The 23rd Men’s and 22nd Women’s National Shooting Competition, under National Sports Council (NSC) championship, are set to begin Wednesday at Satdobato Sports Complex, Lalitpur

Individuals and teams will participate in eight different categories of both men’s and women’s events including air rifle and air pistol, the NSC said quoting  Nepal Shooting Association’s secretary and head coach Pradip Khati. 

The four-day tournament will end on Saturday.

Athletes from five development regions will participate in the event besides players from departmental teams Tribhuvan Army Club and Nepal Police Club.

Leave A Comment