TAC dominates athletics

Published On: January 9, 2018 08:45 AM NPT By: Amar Khadka

ITAHARI, Jan 9: Tribhuvan Army Club’s ascendancy in Nepali sports continued as they bagged five gold medals in the ongoing National Sports Council (NSC) championship in Itahari.

Armed Police Force (APF), Nepal Police Club (NPC) and Mid-western development region registered a gold medal each on Monday in eight different categories played at the ‘clay track’ of the Itahari stadium.

TAC’s Krishna Chaudhary won gold each in Women Long Jump and 200 meter run. Similarly, Ram Prasad Tharu in 110 meter and 400 meter hurdles for men and Yam Sajan Sunar in 200 meter run won gold for Army. NPC’s Chandra Kala Lamgade came first in Women Shot Put. Similary, APF’s Dil Maya Karki won 400 meter hurdles for women and Mid-western’s Bhuvan Mahato won long jump for men.

Winner of two golds on Monday Krishna registered 5.08 meters in long jump, APF’s Shila Chaudhary had to do with second position after coming short by 0.02 meters. Similary, Mid-western’s Jay Rani Tharu won bronze for 4.76 meters.

Krishna again completed the 200 meter run for women in 27.55 seconds to claim her second gold of the day. TAC’s Sangita Meche finished runner-up with 27.99 seconds followed by Ja Rani Tharu winning bronze for 28.50 seconds.

Ram Prasad completed 110 meter in 16.20 seconds. He was followed by NPC’s Chandra Dev Joshi (16.50) and TAC’s Nir Bahadur Chaudhary (16.74) winning silver and bronze respectively. Similarly, Ram Prasad (58.28 secs) won 400 meter hurdles to win his second gold of the day followed by APF’s Nir Pratap Mahato (58.38 secs) and TAC’s Sagar Karki (58.81 secs) finished runner-up and second runner-up respectively.

In the men’s 200 meter race, Yam Jan, who had been dominating the short distance race in recent times, completed the run in 22.83 seconds, while APF’s Ashish Chaudhary and TAC’s Abhishek Chaudhary won silver and bronze medals respectively. TAC’s Chaudhary completed the race in 23.32 seconds, while APF’s Chaudhary in 23.38 seconds. 

In the women’s 400 meter category, APF’s Dil Maya Karki won the race in one minute and 09.89 seconds, while TAC’s Tulasa Shrestha in one minute and 10.11 seconds. The bronze-medal winner TAC’s Tulasa Khatri finished in one minute 12.39 seconds. 

Similarly, in the women’s shot put category, NPC’s Chandrakala won the gold medal throwing the shot put as far as 10.623 meters, while NPC’s Basanti Chaudhary (9.72 meters) won the silver medal and TAC’s Amrita Mahato (9.54 meters) won the bronze. 

Likewise, in the men’s long jump, Central Region’s Bhuwan secured the gold medal with a jump of 6.65 meters, while TAC’s Sher Bahadur Bista (6.48) won the silver and TAC’s Dilli Khatri (6.45 meters) claimed the bronze. 


Leave A Comment