TAC, Central win Sepak takraw titles

Published On: December 30, 2017 10:46 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Dec 30: Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) and Central Region have clinched the third National Sepak Takraw Tournament titles under the National Sports Council (NSC) Championship on Friday. TAC won the men’s title while the Central won the title under women category. 

In the men’s final match played at Tundhikhel, TAC defeated Eastern Region 21-13, 21-17. 

Under the captaincy of Anil Jarga Magar, Sailesh Dahal, Surya Chaudhary, Mukunda Gautam and Deepesh Thapa played for TAC, while Roshan Tamang, Amrit Basnet, Rajiv Khatiwada, Shrijesh Shrestha and Roshan Rai played for the Eastern.

The Central secured the third place of the tournament beating the Mid-western Region 19-21, 21-15, 15-12. 

Five regional teams and the other six teams including TAC had participated in the tournament, held in league cum knockout format.

Likewise, the Central Region finished first in the women’s category which was also held in league cum knockout format. Salina Thapa, Sumitra Dangol, Usha Maharjan, Nikita Lama and Swastika Shrestha’s Central Region accumulated 12 points. The Western Region collected nine points which had fielded Sommaya Thapa Magar, Lija Gurung, Trishna Sunwar, Jenisha Thapa Magar and Benika Thada. The third-placed Far-western Region got six points. 

Amrit, Arhanta in final 
The Western Region’s Amrit Thapa Magar and the Central Region’s Arhanta Keshar Singh have advanced into the men’s final of the ongoing 10th National Squash Tournament on Friday.  In the semifinal matches, Amrit overcame the Central Region’s Rajendra Shakya 11-6, 11-8, 11-6, while Arhanta saw off the Central Region’s Chhiri Lama 11-6, 11-3, 11-6. 

The Western Region’s Krishna Thapa and the Central Region’s Bhawana Sunwar have reached the final of the women’s category on the same day. 
Krishna beat the Central’s Bipana Blon 11-6, 10-12, 12-10, 4-11, 11-8, while Bhawana defeated the Central’s Swasthani Shrestha 11-6, 11-2, 11-1. 
The final matches will be played at the same venue on Saturday.


Leave A Comment