Sri Lanka wins toss and bats first in 2nd test vs. Australia

Published On: August 4, 2016 11:52 AM NPT By: Associated Press

GALLE, Sri Lanka, Aug 4:  Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews won the toss on Thursday and chose to bat first in the second test against Australia at Galle International Stadium.

Both teams made one change to the teams from the first test, won by Sri Lanka by 106 runs, taking a 1-0 lead in the three-test series.

Australia has handed a first test cap to left-arm spinner Jon Holland — who was not in the initial touring party — as a replacement for Steve O' Keefe who has returned home injured.

Fast bowler Vishwa Fernando makes his debut for Sri Lanka in place of injured Nuwan Pradeep.



Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (captain), Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Perera, Dilruwan Perera, Rangana Herath, Lakshan Sandakan and Vishwa Fernando.

Australia: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, Joe Burns, Usman Khawaja, Adam Voges, Mitchell Marsh, Peter Nevill, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon and Jon Holland.

Umpires: Richard Kettleborough, England and Chris Gaffaney, New Zealand.

TV Umpire: Sundaram Ravi, India. Match Referee: Chris Broad, England.


Leave A Comment