Silence period for presidential election begins from midnight

Published On: March 10, 2018 06:56 PM NPT

KATHMANDU, March 10: The silence period in view of the election to the post of President set for March 13 is commencing from midnight today. 

According to the Election Commission, the election code of conduct to be followed during the silence period does not allow any candidate and political party to engage in election publicity campaign or solicit votes. This shall be followed by media houses as well. 

Incumbent President Bidya Devi Bhandari and Kumari Laxmi Rai of Nepali Congress have registered their candidacies for the post. 

The electoral college comprises members to the Federal Parliament (House of Representatives and National Assembly) and State Assembly members. Meanwhile, the EC has made it clear that those not in the final voters' name list published on March 6 cannot take part in the voting. 

This means that three National Assembly members nominated by the President-- Dr Yubraj Khatiwada (incumbent Finance Minister), Ram Narayan Bidari and Dr Bimala Poudyal--who took oath of office and secrecy Friday - will not vote in the election. 


Leave A Comment