Shrestha elected to lead NNIPA unanimously

Published On: March 3, 2017 10:05 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, March 3: Former karateka Dipak Shrestha has been elected to lead Nepal National and International Players' Association (NNIPA) on Friday. The fourth annual general assembly of NNIPA elected a 20-member executive committee unopposed under the leadership of Shrestha, the general secretary of the previous two tenures. 

Shrestha is one of the most successful karate players of the country who has won two gold medals and a silver in South Asian Games (SAG). He secured gold in the eighth (1999) and ninth (2004) SAG and was restricted to silver in the following edition held in Colombo, Sri Lanka in 2006.

“We shall work to increase facilities and perks for players and try to create sports-friendly environment in the country. In the current scenario, players have not got what they ought to get,” said Shrestha.  “NNIPA was established with a view to advocate for the rights of player and help those in need. Thus, we work toward this aim and also try to make the annual NNIPA Player of the Year Award well managed and bigger in the years to come.”   

The five vice presidents of the committee are Kedarman Sthapit, Deepa Maharjan, Hari Khadka, Kanchi Maya Koju and Deepak Thapa. Shiva Sundar Gothe was elected the general secretary and Manday Kaji Shrestha assistant general secretary. Ang Babu Sherpa has retained the position of treasurer. 

Similarly, Tika Ram Shrestha, Ramesh Kumar Shrestha, Saroj Shrestha, Dinesh Shrestha, Bhola Silwal, Nisha Rawal, Nabita Shrestha, Phupu Lhamu Khatri, Sirish Gurung and Phul Maya Kyapchyaki are members. 

The 27-member executive committee will get full shape after the newly-elected committee nominates two vice presidents and five members. 
Meanwhile, NNIPA has nominated its outgoing president Deepak Bista, former taekwondo player, as the honorary president of the organization. Bista has served as the president of NNIPA for two tenures. 

Dem Bahadur Basnet of National Sports Council (NSC) administered the oath of office and secrecy to the newly-elected committee. 

Ultra runner Mira feted
NNIPA also feted ultra runner Mira Rai, who was recently crowned the winner of the National Geography Adventurer of the Year 2016. Rai was handed over Rs 10,000 along with letter of appreciation by NSC Member Secretary Keshav Kumar Bista. Meanwhile, mountaineer Sanjay Pandit was also feted on the same occasion with a letter of appreciation.

Leave A Comment