Shree Airlines announced DPL’s official airline partner

Published On: February 19, 2018 10:12 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

Auctions on Wednesday

KATHMANDU, Feb 19: Shree Airlines has been associated with the second season of Ruslan Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL) as the official airlines of the tournament.

At a press meet held in Kathmandu on Sunday, Shree announced that it will also provide Rs one million for the tournament, of which Rs 750,000 will be in cash and the rest will be in kind.

Director of Shree Airlines, Kundan Giri, and chairman of Dhangadhi Cricket Academy, Subash Shahi, signed an agreement to this effect on Sunday.

Ruslan DPL, Nepal’s largest cricketing event in terms of award value, is set to kick-off on March 31.

Giri said he was happy to be part of the cricket fraternity that has been getting so much success and popularity in recent times. 

“We want to contribute in this sector for the development of cricket that is getting so much recognition,” he said. “Through the development of the sport, we wish to reward the players who are working hard for it.”

Shahi also expressed happiness on receiving more helping hands for the development of cricket in Nepal. 

“When we started, we always wanted to make it better next time. We have a big budget to manage for the second season of DPL. Any help from the corporate sector, like Shree Airlines, will help us make the event bigger than before,” Shahi said. 

Auctions for players are set to be held on Wednesday. Players are categorized into three groups. “More than 200 players have registered for the second edition of the auctions. We will trim them according to our grades,” said Devendra Subedi, the official spokesperson for Ruslan DPL. 

The first category includes national team players having played at least 15 international matches or having represented Nepal in the last three years. The DPL teams will be required to buy a maximum of three players and minimum of two for their squads. The second category comprises of all remaining national players, age-level players, and camp players. A minimum limitation of three players has been defined. 

Likewise, the third category, with minimum limitation of five players to be included in each team, features all the other uncapped players. 

Six teams based in different cities are taking part in the tournament that will have 15 players each, including two mandatory foreign players and a player from the far-western region in each team to be selected from a ‘talent hunt’ event that completed two weeks ago.

The winner of the tournament is set to take home Rs 2.5 million, while the runner-up will be prized with Rs 1 million. Likewise, the third-placed team gets Rs 300,000 and the fourth-placed bags Rs 200,000. The man-of-the-match will be rewarded with Rs 10,000 each, while the man-of-the-series will get a TVS motorbike. The best batsman and the best bowler are also to be awarded with gift hampers. 

A former Nepal player is set to be honored with ‘Dhangadhi Cricket Award’ whereas a person will be felicitated with ‘Arjun Khadka Memorial Award’ for his contributions in Nepali cricket. 

The total budget of the tournament will be Rs 30 million, the organizers said. 

The tournament will be held in round-robin league format in the league phase. The final is to be held on April 14. All the matches will be played at SSP Cricket Ground in Dhangadhi.


Leave A Comment