Shikshadeep lifts provincial inter-college cricket title

Published On: March 2, 2018 08:39 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

ITAHARI, March 2: Biratnagar’s Shikshadeep Higher Secondary School has won the Provincial Expert Inter-college Cricket Tournament of Province 1, defeating Vishwa Adarsha Higher Secondary School of Itahari by five wickets in the final on Thursday. 

At the Nepal DVM Global Academy in Itahari, Vishwa Adarsha won the toss and opted to bat first giving a target of 100 runs in the allotted 20 overs. Semant Raj Regmi scored 25 runs for Vishwa Adarsha, while Dhiren Rai and Prabesh Pradhan added 23 and 22 runs respectively. Shikshadeep’s Anoj Yadav claimed three wickets, while Rewati Yadav picked up two wickets. 

In reply, Shikshadeep chased the target in 19 overs at the loss of five wickets. Rajan Magar scored the highest 28 runs for the winning team, while Rewati Yadav contributed 20 runs. Anoj Yadav, who was named the man-of-the-match, added 15 and Aman Ali made 11 runs. For Vishwa Adarsha, Nishan Mahat grabbed two wickets, while Bhupal Luitel claimed a wicket. 

Vishwa Adarsha’s Mahat was adjudged the best player of the tournament, while Shikshadeep’s Aayush Odari was named the best player and Sushma College’s Saroj Katuwal as the best batsman of the tournament. 

The winner took home Rs 20,000, while the runner-up was rewarded with Rs 10,000.  The organizers informed that the winning teams of each province will be included in the national tournament in Kathmandu and the team who will play brilliantly in Kathmandu will have an opportunity to play in Bangladesh and Pakistan. 


Leave A Comment