Shankhamul becomes champion

Published On: September 11, 2017 03:00 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, September 11: Shankhamul Futsal has become the champion of the National Futsal League defeating Kick-Off Futsal in the summit clash on Sunday. 

In the final match played at Chaur Recreational Center, Banbasri, Kathmandu, Shankhamul recorded 5-4 win over Kick-Off Futsal. 

Champion Shankhamul took home Rs 500,000 while the runner-up Kick-Off was rewarded with Rs 250,000. 

To help Shankhamul win the first-ever futsal league organized by All Nepal Football Association (ANFA), Suraj Raut scored a brace while Abhay Rana, Anish Shrestha and Nirmal Gurung scored one goal each. 

Likewise, Suman Dangol netted twice for Kick-Off while Mani Lama and Rajin Pande struck one goal each. 

Suman Dangol put Kick-off in the driving seat scoring the opening goal in the 15th minute but Shankhamul equalized two minutes later with Suraj Raut's goal. Champion Shankhamul took a 2-1 lead as Abhay Rana found the net in the 20th minute and the lead was extended one minute later with Suraj scoring his personal second. Anish Shrestha made 4-1 for Shankhamul in the 22nd minute while Mani Lama pulled back one goal for Kick-Off in the 23rd minute to make the scoreline 4-2. Similarly, Kick-Off's Suman Dangol scored his personal second goal in the 29th minute to make it 4-3 but Nirmal Gurung made it 5-3 for Shankhamul in the 36th minute. Rajin Pande pulled back a goal in the 40th minute for Kick-Off but that wasn't enough to save his team from the defeat. 

Meanwhile, Shankhamul dominated the individual awards with the champion team's Anish Shrestha, Suraj Raut and Prakash Pariyar announced as the best goalkeeper, best player and best coach respectively. Likewise, Samakhusi Futsal's Binod Gurung was declared as emerging player while Kick-Off's Raj Shahi became best defender of the league. The best players and coach were rewarded with Rs 20,000 respectively.  

Meanwhile, this league is taken as a selection for the AFC Futsal Championship 2018 Qualification that is to be held in Iran from October 13 to 15. 

Leave A Comment