Seven municipalities of Dhanusha at high risk of disaster

Published On: June 11, 2022 01:20 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

JANAKPURDHAM, June 11: Seven out of 18 local level units of Dhanusha district are reported to be at high risk of monsoon-induced disaster. 

These seven municipalities of the district are at high risk due to floods in various rivers triggered by heavy rainfall during the monsoon, according to the District Disaster Management Committee. 

Chair of the Committee and Chief District Officer of Dhanusha, Surendra Poudel shared that Kamala Municipality, Shahid Nagar Municipality, Sabaila Municipality, Nagarain Municipality, Dhanauji Municipality, Mukhiyapatti Musaharaniya Municipality and Janakandani Municipality are at high risk of flood-related disasters. 

Locals of various wards who are at high risk of floods and landslides in the municipalities have been facing the problem of inundation and erosion every year. 

According to him, five municipalities of Dhanusha are at medium risk and six municipalities are at low risk due to the flood-induced disaster. 

Janakpurdham Sub-metropolitan Municipality, Ganeshman Charnath Municipality, Dhanushadham Municipality, Bideha Municipality are at medium risk due to flood-related disasters. 

Similarly, Kshireshwornath Municipality, Mithila Bihari Municipality, Mithila Municipality, Laxminiya Municipality, Bateshwor Municipality and Hanspur Municipality of the district are at low risk. 

Floods in Kamala, Jamuna, Aurhi, Bahri, Basahi and Jalad rivers have been causing huge financial loss every year. According to the District Administration Office, Dhanusha, four people were killed and property worth Rs. 15 million was damaged in monsoon-induced disasters last year. 

Leave A Comment