Senior-level vacancies under education ministry filled

Published On: September 10, 2016 12:00 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Sept 10: Various high-ranking positions at the Ministry of Education (MoE) and its departments, which were vacant for several months, have been filled.

Following retirement of education secretary Bishwa Prakash Pandit more than two months ago, the cabinet a week ago appointed Shanta Bahadur Shrestha as education secretary 

Khaga Raj Baral, director general of the Department of Education was promoted about a month ago to secretary and transferred to a regional office, according to sources at the MoE. Meanwhile, a meeting headed by Education Minister Dhani Ram Paudel on Friday transferred Baburam Paudel, executive director of the Curriculum Development Center (CDC) to the Department of Education (DoE) as the director general.

The National Examination Board (NEB) was formed about three months ago following the implementation of the new education act. However, the government is yet to appoint the chairperson to the NEB. Meanwhile, the post of vice-chairperson, and member secretary of the NEB were also lying vacant after secretary Pandit's retirement and the Higher Secondary Education Board was dissolved. But with the appointment of Shrestha as education secretary, the post of NEB vice-chair has been filled as education secretary is ex-officio vice-chair. The MoE today appointed Surya Prasad Guatam as the member secretary of the NEB.  Guatam was executive director at the National Center for Education Development (NCED).

The NEB chairperson is appointed through the recommendation of a committee chaired by the Public Service Commission.

Similarly, the MoE appointed Krishna Prasad Kapri, former controller at the Office of the Controller of Examinations as the Executive Director of the CDC. Dev Kumari Guragain has been posted as the Executive Director of the NCED while Ana Prasad Neupane has been appointed as the Deputy DG of the DoE.  Baikuntha Aryal, Deputy DG of the DoE, has been transferred to the MoE.

Meanwhile, MoE has assigned Ramesh Kumar Bakhati, senior official of Center for Technical Education and Vocational Training (CTEVT) as the member-secretary of the CTEVT after member-secretary Dr Ram Hari Lamichhane resigned his post.

Likewise, the University Grants Commission (UGC) has been running without member-secretary for about one and a half years after the government failed to appoint in the post.

Leave A Comment