Ruslan KCTC, Royal Fighter triumph

Published On: January 11, 2017 09:40 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, Jan 11: Host Ruslan KCTC and Royal PC Fighter registered wins on Wednesday in the Second Ruslan Cup 2073 T20 cricket tournament played at the TU grounds in Kirtipur, Kathmandu. 

Sanjay Basnet scored an unbeaten 42 runs for Ruslan KCTC as it overcame Cannon Cricket Club by seven wickets. Similarly, opener Rabin Joshi shone with the bat with an unbeaten 56 runs for Royal PC Fighters in its six-wicket win over Khahare Cricket Club of Dhading. 

Put to bat first first after losing the toss, Cannon made 115/5 at close. Only three batsmen managed to reach double digit figure for Cannon. Suman Thakur made remarkable contribution scoring 38 runs off 46 balls for Cannon. Opener Ajay Kumar Thakur (13 runs off 23 balls) and Bhuwan Basnet (15 runs off 19 balls) were the other batsmen for the team to contribute in double digit.

Sumit Jha and Dilip Yadav of Ruslan KCTC pocketed two wickets while Sudhir Chaudhary bagged one.

In the run chase, Ruslan KCTC scored 114 runs losing three wickets in 15 overs. Number four batsman Sanjay scored unbeaten 42 runs off 28 deliverers. He cracked seven fours and was later declared the man-of-the-match. Openers Bipin Acharya and Sumit Maharjan scored 11 runs apiece while Aadil Khan contributed 13 runs. Bibek Rana Magar was not out on 11 runs.

In another match, electing to bat first Khahare posted 116 runs target for the loss of seven wickets. In reply, Royal PC Fighter chased the target at 12.2 overs losing four wickets. 

Krishna Adhikari (20 runs), Amrit Thapa (26 runs) Anil Thapa (23 runs) and Roshan Pulami (22 runs) came up with modest contribution for Khahare as it lost other batsmen cheaply.

Dhiraj Shahi and Surendra Chand of Royal claimed two wickets apiece while Rabin Khatri and Bijaya Sunar pocketed one wicket each. 

In the run chase, opener Rabin Joshi quick fired unbeaten 56 runs off 30 balls for Royal PC's win. The man-of-the-match smashed seven fours and three sixes. Rabin played 56 runs stand for the first wicket with Dhan Bahadur Karki (23 runs) before the latter was stumped by Anil Thapa.   

Bijay Sunar contributed 29 runs off 24 balls for Royal PC in its comfortable run chase. 
Nepal Rhinos will take on Armed Police Force on Thursday while Himalayan White House College will meet PC fighters in the quarterfinal clashes. 

Leave A Comment