Ruling NCP lawmakers register no-confidence motion against Karnali CM Shahi

Published On: October 11, 2020 03:42 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

SURKHET, Oct 11: Lawmakers of the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) have registered a motion of no confidence against the chief minister (CM) of  Karnali Province, Mahendra Bahadur Shahi.

As many as 18 provincial lawmakers submitted the motion to the chief party whip of the NCP parliamentary party, Gulab Jung Shah, earlier on Sunday.

In their proposal as per Rule 24 (1) of the Parliamentary Party Statute 2075 BS, the dissident lawmakers blamed CM Shahi for a feeble presence of the party in parliament as the parliamentary party leader.

Fifteen members of the provincial assembly from the former CPN-UML and three from the erstwhile CPN (Maoist Center) including former federal minister Yamlal Kandel and deputy speaker of the provincial assembly Pushpa Gharti Magar are among those registering the motion against Shahi.

Karnali Province Assembly has a total of 33 lawmakers. According to Article 188 (3) of the Constitution of Nepal, the chief minister can be dismissed through a majority vote. 


Leave A Comment