RPP splits; Pashupati Shamsher Rana forms RPP-Prajatantrik

Published On: August 6, 2017 06:31 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, August 6: The fourth largest party in the parliament, Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) has split on Sunday.

Party leader Pashupati Shamsher Rana has formed a new party with few leaders and has named as Rastriya Prajatantra Party- Prajatantrik. Rana has submitted an application in the Election Commission on Sunday to register the newly formed party.

Rana-led Ratriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) and Kamal Thapa-led Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal (RPP-Nepal) had unified in last November. However, the internal disputes among the top leaders driven the split in the party within nearly nine months after the unification.

The party had 37 lawmakers in the house after the unification on November 21 that included 24 from Thapa-led RPP-Nepal and 13 from Rana-led RPP. 

Leave A Comment